The Judiciary, Government of Akwa Ibom State
You Are Here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome>Government>Judicary
Chief Judge
Hon. Justice Idongesit Ntem Isua
(Chief Judge)
Hon. Justice Idongesit Ntem Isua became the Chief Judge of Akwa Ibom State on Sept. 25, 2008.

A former Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Solicitor-General and Director-General, Director of Public Prosecutions, and an active member of the International Federation of Women Lawyers (FIDA). Currently a member of the International Association of Women Judges (IAWJ) and the National Association of Women Judges Nigeria (NAWJN).

She is a National Patron of the National Council of Catholic Women Associations and was recently honoured along with others as an Ambassador of Mary.
  • Chief Judge
  • Judges
  • Magistrates
  • Registrar
  • High Court
  • Magistrate Court
  • District Court
  • Environmental Court
  • Revenue Court
Akwa Ibom State Judiciary
As third arm of the Government of Akwa Ibom State, the Judiciary provides access to justice through the timely, fair, and impartial resolution of cases. At the same time the Judiciary is driven by a vision of "Unimpeded Access to Justice," for which the use of technology is being introduced to enhance ethical framework of judicial officers and the justice delivery process.

Akwa Ibom State Judiciary came into existence at state creation on Sept. 23, 1987, consisting of seven Judicial Divisions at inception, ten Magisterial Districts and ninety-four District Courts. There were ten High Court Judges in all with Hon. Justice Mbatidiong Udofia Usoro (late) as the pioneer state Chief Judge. The other Judges were Hon. Justice J. T. Akpabio (Late) justice of the court of appeal, E. R. Nkop (who became the second state chief Judge), E. D. U. Idiong (former Chief Judge), U. J. Udofia (late), B. U. Eka (late), J. B. Esang, E. I.Nkereuwem (Late), Eno Udo (Late) and O. A. Esin (Late), Samuel W. Egbo – Egbo (retired) was the pioneer Chief Registrar.

The pioneer Judicial Divisions were Uyo, Abak, Etinan, Eket, Ikot Ekpene, Oron and Ikot-Abasi. The ten Magisterial Districts were Uyo, Ikono, Ikot Ekpene, Ikot Abasi, Itu, Abak, Oron, Eket, Etinan and Ukanafun. Over the years, it became necessary to create additional Judicial Divisions and new Magisterial Districts. Between 1987 and 2006, a total of 4 new Judicial Divisions and 9 new Magisterial Districts were created. Other Special Courts have been created as well as multi-door court.

Presently, Akwa Ibom State Judiciary comprises 12 Judicial Divisions and 19 Magisterial Districts, with a total of 22 high court judges and 27 magistrates. The number of district courts stands at 94 with 94 presidents and 188 sitting members.


Laws of Akwa Ibom State
Electronic and browseable copy of the seven volumes of the Laws of Akwa Ibom State
Associated State Agencies
  • Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy
  • Law Reform Commission
  • Judicial service Commission
First Page Previous Page
Next Page Last Page
Page size:
 40 items in 2 pages
Akpabio to Sign HIV/AIDS Control Agency Bill into Law  ( 1 Aug, 2012 )
USA Court Grants Akwa Ibom State Request For Investigative Subpoenas Against Criminal Suspects  ( 22 Apr, 2012 )
AKHA Members to Understudy China`s Industrialisation Strategies  ( 4 Apr, 2012 )
Annangs Have Ensured Justice in The Development of Akwa Ibom State - Akpabio  ( 16 Mar, 2012 )
Jubilation in A/Ibom As Tribunal Strikes Out Akpabio/Udoedehe`s Case  ( 27 Feb, 2012 )
AKSG to Construct Ultra-Modern High Court Complex  ( 10 Oct, 2011 )
Commissioner Repositions Ministry of Justice  ( 25 Jul, 2011 )
AKS Solicitor- General Charges Law Officers on Dedication to Duty  ( 22 Jul, 2011 )
AKS Chief Judge Swears In Customary Court Members  ( 11 Jul, 2011 )
Akwa Ibom State Chief Judge Urges Women to Uphold Virtues of Chastity  ( 3 Jul, 2011 )
Bravo to Lagos Over Children`s Rights  ( 3 Jul, 2011 )
AKHA Partners Judiciary To Ensure Rule of Law  ( 22 Jun, 2011 )
High Court Judge Advises Newly Appointed Magistrates on Judgment Writing  ( 6 Jun, 2011 )
Gov. Akpabio Signs Three Bills Into Law  ( 2 Mar, 2011 )
April Polls: Court Upholds A/Ibom PDP Gov Primary  ( 24 Feb, 2011 )
Bayelsa Bonus: Oil-producing States May Head for Court  ( 20 Oct, 2010 )
AKSG to Establish Customary Court of Appeal  ( 11 Oct, 2010 )
Government Touches Uyo People Again  ( 5 Jul, 2010 )
Constitutional Amendment: Heated Debates Trail Exercise in Akwa Ibom State  ( 3 Jul, 2010 )
Law Reform Commission Presents First Annual Report  ( 23 Jun, 2010 )
  About Akwa Ibom Government State Development News Center Site Info  
  People Executive Infrastructure Development State News Site Map  
  Social Legislative Service Delivery Features Feedback  
  Resources Judicary People Development In Newspapers FAQ  
  Investing Federal Legislators Mega Projects Events Gallery Contact Us  
  Geography and Location Laws of Akwa Ibom Interministerial Photo Gallery Accessibility  
  Culture Ministries State Projects Article Search Privacy  
  Tourism State Agencies Transforming Projects Flight Schedule Blog  
  Cuisine Local Government Movie Schedule  
Copyright © 2012 Government of Akwa Ibom State